Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Users

Users and Groups are managed from the Admin area of ProVision, under the Users tab. The Users tab contains three sub-tabs: Users, Groups, and Chart View


Users Overview

A User is defined as a single login account that accesses ProVision. On the Users page, users may be created, edited, assigned to groups, have password information reset, or be removed. 

When viewing the Users List, the following is shown:

Selection checkbox: The checkboxes on the the left side of the user may be used to multi-select users to delete

Info: An informational tag displays for External (external users are not editable) or disabled users

Username: The associated login email address for local users, or the server username for external users. Click on the username to view user details.

Full Name: The manually entered first and last name of the user

Groups: The group(s) to which the user belong - if the user belongs to multiple groups, an interactive bubble will display with the number of additional groups (+1). Click on this bubble to view all groups for the user.

User Icon: Click for a shortcut to view the permission chart for the user. Once in the chart view, select the desired group to finalize the view

Gear Icon (Action Menu): Right Click on the gear icon (or anywhere on the user row) to open the action menu for the user

View Options:

Items per page

Select the "items per page" filter to limit the number of users displayed at one time. Any additional users will be displayed on following pages.

Use the page numbers and navigation arrows at the bottom of the list to view extra pages.

Sort

The Users list may be sorted for any column with the sort arrow icon (↓↑ ).

Click on the column name to toggle between ascending / descending order for that field.

Filter by Group

Filter the Users list to only view a certain group by selecting a group from the "Filter by group" dropdown.

Search the list for a specific username or full name by typing all or part of either name in the search box.

Working with Users

Creating User Accounts

Add Users by clicking on the "Create User" button at the upper right of the "Users" page. This will take you to the Create User screen. 


You may enter or edit the Username, First Name, Last Name, whether to enable help bubbles, and select one or more permissions groups to which to assign the user. 


A list of existing User Groups is listed under the "Groups" tab on the right.

To assign a user to one or more groups, click on the area to the left of a group name. A green checkmark will appear when the user is successfully assigned. You can search for a specific group using the filter box above the list.

When assigning users to multiple permissions groups, be sure to review the group permission details to ensure that they do not conflict with each other!

To create a password for a new user, simply type it in the "Password" field. Click the eye icon to the right of the field to toggle visibility. You may also create a password and automatically send an email to the new user with their credentials. In the Password section, move the "Send email?" selector to the "ON" position. An email template will appear. Fill in a password for the new user and it will be added to the email template. When done click "Save" and the email will be sent.

Passwords must be eight characters in length.


Editing User Accounts

External users may not be edited


To edit a user's information click on the Action Menu (gear icon) for the user and select "User Details" or click on the user name.


This will bring up the Edit User screen.

By default, the group list is filtered to show the group(s) to which the user is currently assigned.

In order to assign the user to another group, move the selector at the top of the group list to "Show all groups" and the list will expand to show all existing groups.

To assign a user to one or more groups, click on the area to the left of a group name. A green checkmark will appear when the user is successfully assigned. You can search for a specific group using the filter box above the list. Clicking the arrow to the right of a group name will take you to the corresponding Group Details page.

When done, be sure to save your changes by clicking "Save" at the bottom right of the page.


Password Management

To reset an existing user's password, simply type in a new password and hit "Reset Password". Use the eye icon to toggle field visibility.

To reset a user's password and send the credentials in an email, move the "Send email?" selector to the "ON" position and email fields will appear that may be edited as desired.

Enter a new password into the password field and it will prepopulate in the email template. When complete, hit "Reset Password and send email". 


If desired, the system admin may enable login token links for users. To enable the Login Token functionality at the system level, change the ‘ENABLE_TOKEN_LOGIN’ in the includes/constants.php file to "true".

Once enabled, the option to enable tokens on a per-user level will be available under Edit User → Basic User Data. Once enabled for a user, click "generate new token" for a token link to be created.

Once enabled for a user, click "generate new token" for a token link to be created.

Copy the provided URL, and save in a secure place. Token information may not be retrieved after the "Generate New Token" window is closed; a new token must be generated instead. 


Delete a User

To remove a user from the Users list, click on the Action Menu (gear icon) for the user and select the "Delete this user" option.

You may also delete a user from the User Details page by clicking the "Delete User" button at the bottom left of the page.

You may also select more than one user to delete.

To do so, select the checkboxes for the desired users, then under the "Actions" menu at the top of the list, select "Delete selected users".


Additional Information

For more information on Users and Groups, see the following areas: