Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 2 Next »

Scheduler

The Scheduler tab allows you to manage and schedule repeating tasks in ProVision.

Available Task Types

Three predefined task types are available through the scheduler:
Process Holding Tank - Removes IP Blocks from the Holding Tank and returns them to the available pool.
DNS Zone Transfer - Pushes zone updates to the DNS servers.
Backup - Performs a data backup to the 6connect cloud servers. 

Add Task

To add a new scheduled task, hit the "Add Task" button below the Scheduler task list. You will then see the Task Detail Settings area.

Enter Task Details

Under "Task Detail", fill in the following fields: 

Name: Create a name for your task

Task: Select a pre-created task from the dropdown menu. 

Process Holding Tank Settings: When selecting the Process Holding Tank task, you will have the following setting options:

Email From / Email To: Enter an email address to send task notifications from, and the desired recipient. This is an optional setting.

DNS Zone Transfer SettingsWhen selecting the DNS Zone Transfer task, you will have the following setting options:

Select Action Type / Select ServerWhen selecting the DNS zone transfer task, you can choose the action type to a) push all zones to all servers b) push all zones on a single server (then select server) or c) push one zone (then select zone). 

Backup the Database Settings: When selecting the Backup task, you will have the following setting options:

Email From / Email To: Enter an email address to send task notifications from, and the desired recipient. This is an optional setting.

Location: Choose "Cloud" to save the backup to the 6connect cloud, or "Server" to save to a specified server resource already defined in ProVision. If "Server" is selected, choose the server resource from the dropdown list. 

Start: The start date you wish the task to begin repeatedly occurring. By default, the current day is entered. 

End: The date you wish repeat settings to end.

Tip

To create a task that only runs one day, use the same date for start and end.

Add Repeat Settings

Add repeat settings for your tasks. First, select your repeat type - hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, or none (one time). The type that you select will prompt different additional setting options.

Repeat Type options and details:

Hourly: Selecting the hourly repeat type will then prompt for the number of repeat times per hour - every 5,10, 15, 20, 30, or 60 minutes. All minute selections start from the top of the hour. For example, if every 20 minutes is selected, the task will run at :00, :20, :40 during each hour. 

Daily: Selecting the daily repeat type will prompt for the specific time to repeat the task, and which days you wish the task to occur. The Repeat Time is based on a 24 hour clock set at UTC time. To assist in any time zone conversions, the current UTC time is shown at the top of the scheduler page.

Weekly: Selecting the weekly repeat type prompts for the specific time to repeat the task as well as frequency by week. Weekly tasks occur on the day selected as the start date. Using the weekly option, you may choose from a range of weekly (every 1 week) to once every two months (every 8 weeks). 

Monthly: Selecting the monthly repeat type prompts for a repeat time and a day. For the day option, you can either choose a specific day (ie, the 15th of each month) or a relative day (the 1st Friday of each month).

For Monthly repeat settings, verify that the calendar day you select the task to occur exists! For example, if you select the 5th Saturday of each month, the task will repeat only in months which have 5 Saturdays and skip all other months.

None (one-time): Select the time and day that you wish the single occurrence task to run.

After you have selected your Repeat Setting options, click the "Add Repeat Setting" button. 

Verify Repeat Settings and Save

When you add repeat settings, they will appear under the "Repeat Settings For This Task" area. Verify your settings, and if desired, you may delete individual repeat settings by hitting the "Delete" button. 

When complete, hit the "Save Task" button to finalize your changes and add your new task to the task list. 

Managing Tasks

After tasks have been added, they will show in the task list along with their basic settings. From this list, you can enable/disable tasks, view details, view history, run tasks, and delete tasks. 

Name: The task name assigned during the "Add Task" creation process. 

Repeat Start: The date selected for the repeat settings to start

Repeat Info: The repeat settings chosen for the task. 

Last Run: The date and time the task was last run, if applicable. 

Active: To activate tasks, simply click the check box under "Active" in the task list. To deactivate a task, uncheck it. By default, tasks are checked as active once created. 

Details: This link will bring up the task details and repeat settings, which then may be edited and re-saved if needed. 

View History: This link will show the log for task actions. 

Run Now: The "Run Now" button will run the scheduled task when pressed, regardless of the scheduled repeat settings.

Delete: Deletes the task.

Activate / Deactivate Tasks

Click on the check box under "Active" for the task

Edit a Task

Click on the "Details" link for the task, then edit the Task Detail and Repeat Settings that appear below as needed. 

Hit "Save Task" when finished to save your changes, or select "Close" to close the view without saving.  

View Task Log

Click on the "History" link for the task. The log details for the task will be shown below. When done, click on the "Close" button to exit the view. 

Delete a Task

To delete a task, hit the "Delete" button at the end of the row in the Task List. You will be presented with message asking if you are sure you wish to delete the task. Click on the "Delete" button next to the message to verify the deletion, or hit "Cancel" to exit without deleting. 


  • No labels